Sunday, November 30, 2008

let me count the ways...




oh how i love my husband...let me count the ways:


1) i love that he reads my blogs without me knowing

2) i love that he loves me

3) he' s an awesome dad and partner parent

4) he is good at his job

5) he is great at keeping up with our finances

6) he grocery shops with henry every weekend

7) he thinks (knows) hazel is the prettiest girl to ever walk this earth

8) he never procrastinates

9) his ability to create thoughtful and meaningful gifts

10) i love that he's slightly socially unaware

11) he is comfortable in a crowd

12) he is a handy-man and never does anything halfway

13) he love the Lord (i almost moved this up but then i thought that would be cheesy...but please remember there is no order to this list)

14) he makes the best scrambled eggs, it sounds simple but it's true

15) he drinks and makes great wine

16) he lets me have my crazy moments

17) he drives my old car...he hates it!

18) he's nice to our neighbors

19) he can make up perverted lyrics to any Christmas song, a true talent

20) i love him because he doesn't fight being stuck with me!




Thursday, November 27, 2008

thanksgiving...and it's over!












i have so much to be thankful for. today is one of them. i had the best thanksgiving ever, ty, the kids and i were fortunate to spend last night in chicago, the palmer house hotel (which is one of my faves), we woke up early, duh, and then went to the parade. it was awesome. the weather was perfect, chilly, sunny and just right for great thanksgiving memories. we stayed at the parade for a while and then headed south for shedds aquarium. on the way we were able to see bob the builder, which is one of henry's hero's, and then spend some time exploring grant park. we joined in a game of football with some college kids and headed towards the "big fish", which is what henry was excited for. the kids loved the aquarium, even though henry tried to join a couple other families, we still had a great time. he definitely has his dad's ability to talk to strangers! the second to last pic is our thanksgiving dinner, so to speak, at shedd's cafeteria. i had a great salad, ty a turkey sandwich, and the kid split a lunchable and some fruit. not the traditional meal but we enjoyed it!
day three:
to those of you who are following my sexperiment, it's over. my husband has the uncanny ability to be a mix between a 90 year old and 9 year old and that showed up last night at the hotel. as if having sex with your two children in the room isn't difficult enough, he had to go and act like a complete imbecile! needless to say, our deal was off. how can you have sex with a person who can act like that? not me, and even after 2 days it was if he expected the sex, i'm sorry but NO! i can't do that!
it's hard to believe that the favors by him ended so quickly and he just expected the sex because i told him i was trying to "do it" 7 days in a row. when going back to the article, no wonder the pastor was a man and all of the people interviewed were also men...dirty bastards! as to my previous questions, marriage is not prostitution because getting paid isn't required and as to who wins...he does, or maybe no one does, because i mentally and physically can't do it night after night and not get a better husband for it.
so those of you who considering trying this with your men, don't! it's not worth is. however, i'm probably going to end up doing it tonight because i'm a bit tipsy and henry's spending the night at my parents...damn the luck!


Wednesday, November 26, 2008

"sexperiment"

i have thought of a catchy title for my experiment...sexperiement, i find it quite clever, if i don't say so myself. however proud i am for this new title, i am beginning to hate myself for thinking that this whole "thing" would be a good idea. i will do a great many things for a laugh but i'm starting to think i've gone too far...and i've only had to engage in "the act" twice.

so here's how it went down last night...no pun intended! we got into a little spat at 5:30, the spat was over in about 12 minutes, very short. i believe that the timing is crucial to my experiment because twice during that spat i mentioned sex. First in a more obvious manner, if he contiued to act like a baby we'd not have sex, then to finish the spat off and to cinch the deal i played this hand (listen up this is good)..."honey, i don't know why you can keep up this act, you know i'm am trying so hard to make our relationship better." he got the point and the fight was over and in record time.

he shortly left to go play basketball and i was able to get some alone time, which consisted of a couple large glasses of wine and i my evening pills, needless to say, i was ready for bed. upon arrival, ty sat down, ate and headed for the shower. i quickly told him that i was heading to bed and to feel free to wake me up. hoping that he wouldn't and that i'd be sitting here writing you about the experiments failure...but NO!

i fell right to sleep, warm and cozy, happily traveling to exotic places with my new boy toy, gavin (or some other name equally as cool, brought with to only serve me drinks and to rub my feet). UNTIL, i was rudely awakened by a double nipple twister-boob mash and what felt like a crowbar between my legs! gross!!!!!!!!! so i forced myself semi-awake, rolled over and let him have his way with me. two minutes later, i was making the cold trek downstairs to our only bathroom.

in the morning he did happily load the entire car for our overnight stay in chicago, he also took the kids to my mom's, which is usually my job, he made coffee and let's not forget this one...he picked up my prescription at the drug store, my knight in shining armor!

i'd like my readers to ponder these two thoughts i've been having, i will address them in later blogs, but let me know what you think...is marriage legalized prostitution?...is he winning or am i?

happy Thanksgiving.

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

science experiment

To be termed scientific, a method of inquiry must be based on gathering observable, empirical and measurable evidence subject to specific principles of reasoning.[1] A scientific method consists of the collection of data through observation and experimentation, and the formulation and testing of hypotheses.[2]


i received an e-mail from my husband yesterday, it's content included an article written by a pastor who advised his married parishioners to have sex 7 days in a row (with their spouse) to positively enhance their marriage. also included was the single word..."whoo-peee!" i read the article and thought about it, the thought of sex after a long day at work, playing with the kids, going to class, doing house hold chores and everything else a woman, wife, and mother does in a day is not appealing...not at all. yeah, i'll put it out there, i never thought i'd be that woman who would choose a glass of wine and some dark chocolate over sex, but i am...so there. sorry ty. don't get me wrong, we do it...i have made a conscience effort to have sex, or make love (barf!), twice a week. according to some people this is very honorable, one of those people includes myself...and poor, dear tyson will take what he can get. so back to the article, after getting over the initial sickness, i decided to go for it and sent ty a little flirtatious email back..."let's do it...pun intended!"

on the flip side, i discussed the option of creating an actual science experiment around this theory with the women at work. and being the great science teacher that i am i decided to do it properly...and why not include my beloved readers along for the ride...pun intended!


Title: Seven Days of Sex

Hypothesis: Having "relations" with my husband for seven days in a row will increase his general attitude towards his daily household routines.

Reasoning: The positive "attention" received by tyson will influence him to keep me, his wife happy. And knowing how much i appreciate his help around the house and with the kids, i am hoping to get him to do his chores without complaint and perhaps increase responsibilities without having to do the wife nag.

Gathering Evidence: i will keep a daily (b)log reporting on tyson's general attitude and what has been accomplished around the house. specifics on the sexual actions will be omitted, unless of course i find that that specific evidence will enhance my (b)log...or give
my friends a chuckle.


day one:
having received the e-mail i sent him, he came home in let's say a "playful" mood. i made dinner, cleaned up and went to my grad class. upon exiting the home, i lightly reminded ty that i was going to follow the pastors suggestions and give the seven days of sex a chance. he smiled, slapped my ass and sent me out the door. i returned home mentally drained and tired. upon arrival, i noticed that the vacuuming had been done and both henry's bed and our bed had fresh sheets!

*please note that the simple promise of sex has encouraged husband to do 2 chores that didn't necessarily have to be done that evening...this is very interesting.

the "act" took place and then i was allowed to have the tv all to myself, even though their was a football game on that he was previously watching...amazing!

in the morning a large tank of propane was placed in my car (for the deep fried turkey we are making at school today). it was freezing cold and spitting sleet, usually ty would complete this task but complaining and negative comments about my job may be made...but not this time!
until tomorrow...

Monday, November 24, 2008

favorite parts of the day...


i was just sitting here, at my desk, looking onto the playground...the snow whirling around, drinking my coffee thinking, i love this time of day. which began the thought process of all of my favorite parts of the day, they may not seem like a big deal to some but these tiny moments make a big difference in my mental health...
a) getting hazel out of bed, she's always happy and rearing to go.
b) good bye kiss from my husband on the way out of the door, after our hectic mornings
c) sitting in my quiet classroom, lesson plans done and my first cup of coffee...the quiet
bfore the storm
d) laughing at my students (see my new instalment of "Lighthouse Lingo")
e) the squeals and hugs from my children when i pick them up after work
f) the squeals and hugs from my children when they see tyson for the first time after work
g) bath time
h) bed time books, prayers and songs, henry always lists what he is thankful for and it's the same everyday, "john deere's and roxy"
i) sitting down in a picked up living room, lighting a candle, and having a glass of wine after
everyone is asleep, even tyson...i do cheris my alone time.

Friday, November 21, 2008

snow day!!!!











very few things are as spectacular as a day off when you least expect it! a snow day...in november, this is so awesome! i feel like it's a secret, stolen day with my kids...i try to make them as special and memorable as possible. today we have already gone out to play in the snow, first time this year! hazel was fascinated and henry has really gotten into it.

when hazel, my little pink marshmallow, went down for a nap. hank and i filled cheap squirt guns with colored water and went to town on the snow. he's a regular picasso (top picture)!

not every parent would be ok with their son wanting to ice skate, but what the heck, if that's what he wants to do, i'll support him!

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

worry...


i've been told, by my often too critical and polar opposite mother, that i need to worry more. i have always taken pride in my laid back demeanor...cool, calm and collected, i'd like to say. however, i'm beginning to think that that part of my personality should go the way of my physique, you know, sidelined for the sake of my chilren.





since april we have been to the emergency room 6 times. 6 times! i have never gone once for myself. henry has gone 4 times, once for pnumonia, twice for farm accidents (below), and once for splitting open his cheek at the babysitters (top, alittle durobond that time!). i always thought, boys will be boys, right? but what if i'm not right?








now, my precious baby girl has had to have the tip of her left pinky sewn back on after getting it slammed into a door. not just any door but a door at my school, in my classroom, under my watch. and 2 trips to 2 different ERs were necessary.

what if i don't worry enough? what if, what i see as cool and calm is really neglectful...i definately have proof supporting that theory. i have always found comfort in knowing that i'm not in charge and that God watches out for all of us and what will happen will happen...but what if i'm suppose to be providing alittle more support towards God's intentions...like taking care of my babies!?! just a thought i'd like to put out there. i'm not looking for sympathy or guidance, this is just insight into the craziness having children places on a person. if you recall, i want my blog to not only document the fun and excitment of my life but also provide my friends with an realistic view of what goes on in my life...and mind. the following is just more evidence against me in the case that child protective services is called. (listen for henry's final input!)



Friday, November 7, 2008

enough with the 'tards already!!!!




Rule: it's ok to call people with impairments or people with special needs or people who are differently-abled, 'tards if you love them and devote 40+ hours a week to them.





















two major, fun, events have occured that have missed my attention in cyperspace. one, halloween and two henry's birthday. i havn't quite got this blogging thing down, my pics are a bit screwy, please excuse the unorganization and just enjoy...because like i've said before, you all must be so bored that sitting down and reading about my life must be so mind blowingly genius, you won't even notice the odd picture placement. ...and a side note, there have been a couple of more stressful events to occur in my life these past couple of weeks but it's friday night and i just want to focus on the positive...

one) halloween. henry chose the costumes. he is max and hazel is a wild thing, from the book where the wild things are, we read it every night and henry cracks up everytime max chases the dog with a fork (p2). these pictures are from the halloween parade in downtown saint joe. it's a dog and kid parade and then the stores hand out candy, how cute is that?!?! kudos to mom for the awesome costumes!
























two) it isn't too off that hazel's picture at henry's birthday party shows up right here...she would have it no other way! henry turned three this year and requested a "race car with no eyes" theme. aparently he has outgrown race cars with eyes. he also wanted all toys that came with a controller, and that's what he got...remote control car, airplane, and dinosaur. needless to say, there has not been a quiet moment in my house since october 22. Henry and his "auntie" (said with a ghetto accent, as she has requested) share a birthday and this is this year's annual auntie and henry birthday pic. please notice the wine back drop to henry's cake pictures...priceless!