
mother's day was last sunday, i didn't have much time to reflect that day...well i never have much time to reflect. (i usually like it that way, who needs extra time to critique themselves?) but since then, during the few minutes i have to myself, i began to think of all of the cheesy mother's day sayings that end up on cards and in commercials..."you're the best mom in the world", "i'm so glad you're my mom", "you do everything perfect"...you know what i'm talking about. i realized i am not that mom. i know, i know, no one is...but i'm really not and to prove it i thought i would make a list of all of the things that i do and don't do that make me..., well, a 'me mom':
- i don't typically make breakfast, the kids eat dry cereal
- i have a glass or two of wine every night...i have to
- i let the kids sip my wine (hazel love dry red and white, hank like dry white)
- i walk around in my underwear
- some days i let the kids snack all day and feed them no real meal at all
- we have no lasting bedtime routines, right now both kids watch tv in 'mommadaddees' bed until they fall asleep
- i don't believe in organic
- i work
- i take 'happy' pills, i have to
- i hide where i know they won't find me
- i let them wrestle even tho i know it will end up bad, just because it kills some time (no pun intended)
- i don't separate my laundry
- i hide things in drawers
- sometimes i just drive with the kids so i don't have to play
- i turn my head when they are making a mess, if it keeps them busy
- i let the kids jump on furniture
- my kids think that mini-corn dogs and fish sticks are real food
- ranch dressing, syrup and ketchup are eaten with spoons at almost every meal
- i hide the kids favorite movies and books after the hundredth or so times i've had to watch or read them
- i talk on the phone
- i will NEVER measure up to my mother



