Tuesday, December 30, 2008

who get's pneumonia at 29 years-old?!?!






the quote "a picture is worth a thousand words" comes to mind, aye? there's too much to write about this strange and awful experience, i'm just going to jot down a few...i still don't have the energy to go through it all.
the good:
- i enjoyed helping my roommates dolores and wanda. dolores was a bit out of it and enjoyed the history channel. wanda was more with it but did not like t.v. and insisted we converse...i felt like i was in college again!
- christmas carolers came twice, i felt like such an invalid...though i did find great humor in it.
- i was wandering around one night, hooked up to oxygen and iv's and a lady called me into her room so she could sing me 'silent night'...that truly was amazing, she was lovely.
- my husband and family did an awesome job getting christmas chores and household chores done so i didn't have to worry about anything.
the bad:
- i had pneumonia
- i couldn't breathe or move
- the 2nd day was worse then the first, which was quite scary
- i couldn't see my kids
- hospital food, enough said
- silent dr.s
the ugly:
- i couldn't see my kids!!!!!
- dolores's stinky diapers...she put hazel to shame
- wanda's bowl movements on the open potty chair...hello!
- steroid treatments, racing heart, swelling, throwing up, panic attacks, lonely nights
one of the main things that always cheered my spirits was thinking about what i would write on my blog. it's not one of my best but it's the best i can do for now.

Thursday, December 11, 2008

WHY IS THERE AN ANATOMICALLY CORRECT GINGERBREAD MAN ON MY KWANZA MAT?!?!




this is yet another reason why i love my job! there's not much to say about it. a couple of my lovely students made cookies last night in positive after school...a reward for students who are doing well...and i came in this morning to this! that's funny, or am i just turning into a 9th grade boy? disturbing thought!


Tuesday, December 9, 2008

what comes first?

the following is a situation i just had to deal with, i struggled with what to do...somedays i really am at a loss.
  • four students are playing a board game (great for social skills)
  • two students are picking on one (third) student, this student is always a target, he is small and squirrel-like, he has brain damage has not matured past 10 years old. he can be annoying but is fragile and kind.
  • the fourth student often tries to be teacher, however, picks and chooses when he is going to tease third student or reprimand those who do. today he is on third's side and tells very impressionable third to call one of the two students "a spic-monkey". that student happens to be of Hispanic decent and is quite sensitive about racial issues.
  • all students go crazy, game is flipped and chairs fly.
  • who gets in trouble?
  • typically, racial slurs are 1 hour of after school detention; however, i do not believe third deserves that, he was just repeating and truly does not know any better...but should i prove a point that he should not mindlessly do what others tell him? i give him a talking to but no detention.
  • the two that were picking on third received an hour of after school detention each
  • fourth is going to a bulls game tonight, should he get the two hours of detention that i think he deserves? or do i let him off the hook because he was "sticking up" for third? was he really trying to help or was he instigating the whole episode?
  • i talk it over with his grandpa and decide to postponed the detention until the next day.
  • all are given more serious-boring work until end of school day

my brain hurts.